Pozwól mi stać się twoim lustrem, Skwierzyno (Let me be your mirror, Skwierzyna), 2016-2017

The Projekt Pozwól mi stać się twoim lustrem, Skwierzyno (Let me be your mirror, Skwierzyna) it is a participatory painting project that seeks to create a portrait of the city of Skwierzyna (Poland). The type of portrait proposed here, goes beyond the subjective interpretation of the artist – it is create in a process in which residents are invited to become active contributors and co-authors of it. They had the opportunity to ask the artist for a painting motif of their wish, related to their experiences in the city. The context of each painting was enlighten in the exhibition through a compilation of texts, that narrated those biographical stories of the participants. Through this dialog with the artist, the locals got to develope themselves a colective portrait of their own community. The art work becomes, more than a merely reflection of a society and its context, a possibility for expression and self-determination.

Recognition is central term for this project. The pictures and texts serve as monuments, not just for each participant but also for the whole community. With this idea, the artist refers to the tradition of the commissioned portrait as a memorial and its importance for personal fame. But she frees it from its bourgeois exclusivity and democratizes it: all the residents in the city where welcome to participate, without the involment of any economical exchange or selection process.

Let me be your mirror, Skwierzyna is a cooperation with the City of Bernau, the City of Skwierzyna, Kontext-Labor-Bernau, the University of Arts Berlin (UdK) and 23 citizens from Skwierzyna: Otto Kazimierz, Danuta Sanko, Jerzy Kuźmicz, Ela Kdovieczna, Maria Muzia, Marianna Cap, Janina Ranis, Wieskalja Sobczak, Józefa Serewa, Teresa Jackowska, Kazimierz Wos, Emilia Liczbik, Yanina Szczupakowska, Elzbieta Gancarz, Yadwiga Debska, Alevtyna Kazakova, Tadeusz Krolikowski, Edmund Reszel, Leon Debski, Staniskaw Sienkiewicz, Rozalia Kujawiak, Jolanta Zasiadczyk and Wanda Imielita.

Related links: